You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Sky Poker forums will be temporarily unavailable from 11pm Wednesday July 25th.
Sky Poker Forums is upgrading its look! Stay tuned for the big reveal!

Fighting off a big-stack

edited February 2013 in The Poker Clinic
Hi all, this is my first attempt at posting a hand history so I hope it comes out ok.

This is a hand from a satellite, I can't quite remember what stage we were at but as you'll see plenty of play left, I have nearly 40BBs - I think I was marginally up on the average with about half the field to leave before the seats. Big-stack guy joins the table and is very stubborn, and uses the intimidating stack (over 110BBs!) very well to apply pressure for a few rounds before this hand.

My question is more general than the analysis of this particular hand, I have been in tournaments recently where I've been stuck between two huge stacks and they're never folding to me. I've found it very difficult to find a spot as the lower end of the range rarely flops big enough unless I'm willing to risk my tournament life.  Maybe it's easier when my stack is smaller? If I sit around too long waiting for a hand I'm paying a fair few blinds then it's too obvious when I come out fighting. Normally I'd look to find position against a smaller or similar stack, but here the big-stacks were so large they were in almost every single hand - certainly calling off any pre-flop raise.

So... how do you play those situations (bear in mind for this hand we're talking satellite pay-out rather than going for the win) and what do you make of my attempt to get value here? I think the last bet is just throwing away chips, but thought if I checked he's betting, with a bet he might call?  I didn't like the flop at all (perhaps too negative), turn horrendous, river worse!  Was hoping I'd house up at some point.