You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Sky Poker forums will be temporarily unavailable from 11pm Wednesday July 25th.
Sky Poker Forums is upgrading its look! Stay tuned for the big reveal!

Variance or Poor Play?

Hi guys,

Of late I seem to be on a considerble losing streak (about three weeks now) and this has happened at the worst possible time because I'm relatively new to developing my play so I'm not quite sure if this is due to variance or just me playing really badly.

I do try have a reason for every decision I make, and while I can pinpoint some poor decisions during MTT's (that's my game by the way!) which have eliminated me - it doesn't account for such a long streak of poor form.

I guess my question is, how do you know if variance is at work or you're just playing terribly?

Comments

• edited October 2013
    Variance can be a harsh mistress, as I'm finding out for myself at the moment! Could be a mix of poor decisions and run bad; when you're not feeling great about your poker I think it affects your abilty to make the right decision. I know I'm questioning almost every decision I make at the moment as I try to plough through this downswing.

If you feel you are generally still playing solid poker (in the main), then it's likely that this phase will soon pass. 

Don't forget though, even during the periods of when we feel invincible, we should always be looking at areas of our game that could need improving. It's easy to forget when we crush tournaments that we might have butchered some hands and spots en route!
  • edited October 2013

it's propably starting off with variance but what might start happening is the variance then turns into bad decision making.