You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Sky Poker forums will be temporarily unavailable from 11pm Wednesday July 25th.
Sky Poker Forums is upgrading its look! Stay tuned for the big reveal!

Omaha - A drawing game?

edited October 2013 in Poker Chat
Good morning all,

I've been dabbling in PLO & PLO8 DYM's for a couple of months now with mixed fortunes.

I have read a lot about Omaha being a drawing game, but can this really apply to DYM's as the key to these is survival and preserving your chips.

You can quite easily throw away too many chips chasing draws that don't hit that often.

I usually see a few flops early on whilst blinds are low, but invariably at this stage you can only win small pots.

Any thoughts / advice please.

Cheers
Mick

Comments

• edited October 2013
    I'm not very good at PLO/PLO8 but I believe the point about them being drawing games is that where you get value from your hands generally isn't the river, it's the flop and turn when people will pay to draw. It's less likely you'll get value on the river cos people can't draw anymore (they know if they've made their hand or not now) and because generally on the river in PLO people are only calling bets/raises with pretty nutty hands so getting paid on the river often includes someone being coolered/someone not knowing what they're doing.

Position is important in NLHE and from what I hear, it's even more important in PLO, this allows us to be able to decide whether we wanna take free cards on flop/turn or not.
  • edited October 2013

First of all couple of very good points by lambert there. Position is vital in PLO. And the less well known point about river value. In nlhe you can get 4 streets of value from someone but normally in PLO it is only 3 because they normally shut down on a river brick.