You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Sky Poker forums will be temporarily unavailable from 11pm Wednesday July 25th.
Sky Poker Forums is upgrading its look! Stay tuned for the big reveal!

Poker - Career, addiction, sport or skill?

edited January 2014 in Poker Chat
Hey guys, I've been playing for about 8 months now, and have viewed the forums quite regularly looking at peoples advice, but haven't posted up until now.

I see that a lot of people post Blog's onto the forum that track how they're doing and I have decided to start one myself on a website, following my play, but primarily to look into the pyshcology of the game.  I assume I am allowed to post the link on here so I shall, 

Playing Poker and improving my game (or trying to at least) has begged one big question to me.  And that queries why people play poker. Is it for leisure, money or just pure addiction?  It would be interesting to find out people's views and personal (although nothing too personal please ;)) reasons for playing poker, and just some feedback would be appreciated on here to help me continue writing and make some statistics. Why do you play?

Thanks,
Matzo

Comments

• edited January 2014
    Hi Matzo, 

GL with your blog and your quest to become a better player.

Are you setting yourself any goals?

Most days I play poker simply because I enjoy the challenge. Only occasionally do I find myself at the tables and not really enjoying it. and that is mostly because I am (or at least feel like I am) running badly, playing badly and just hemorrhaging money.
  • edited January 2014