You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Sky Poker forums will be temporarily unavailable from 11pm Wednesday July 25th.
Sky Poker Forums is upgrading its look! Stay tuned for the big reveal!

Was this really that bad a call?

I was told in the chat box that this was a "truly lousy call".

Now I'm no professional but here was my thoughts.

1 - We're already in the money & there's no significant jumps in cash until we hit the top 10 (currently 25/26 or so left at this point)

2 - I've only got 6 BB left and if I want to get to the bigger money I've got to take a chance sooner or later.

3 - FWIW, This is from the team Tikay freeroll & I'd decided that come what may I was going with these cards

Was I wrong to do this or should I have just mucked? Also, forget for one minute that this is a freeroll, would this be a worthwhile call in any tourney given the blinds & stacks?

PlayerActionCardsAmountPotBalance
________ Small blind  1500.00 1500.00 84834.84
silentbob Big blind  3000.00 4500.00 17228.81
  Your hole cards
  • Q
  • J

_________ Fold     
_________ Fold     
PLAYER 1 All-in  20865.08 25365.08 0.00
_________ Fold     
silentbob All-in  17228.81 42593.89 0.00
PLAYER 1 Unmatched bet  636.27 41957.62 636.27
silentbob Show
  • Q
  • J

PLAYER 1 Show

Flop

• Q

Turn

River

• A

silentbob Win Pair of Queens 41957.62  41957.62

Comments

• edited December 2009

I'd prefer pushing rather than calling with this hand, but it's not the worst call in the world.
  • edited December 2009
    player1 has only 7 big blinds his shove range is anything on the button, in your position in this tourny i see nothing wrong with you calling, im calling all day long here
  • edited December 2009
    There are worst calls.

To be fair it is a button shove, which means his range is super wide at this stage, but im nt sure qj is crushing his range!