You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Sky Poker forums will be temporarily unavailable from 11pm Wednesday July 25th.
Sky Poker Forums is upgrading its look! Stay tuned for the big reveal!

Help getting value

edited September 2014 in The Poker Clinic
Hi everyone, my first post here, I have been watching the forum and reading for a little while now, I thought it is about time I posted.

I am fairly new to poker, so please excuse any daft questions with obvious answers!

What I am asking is, how would you go about increasing the size of a pot after a big flop, without scaring the other players off.

To explain, I had AJ UTG, I raised 3BBs and two players called.

Then came the flop, AAJ. Clearly I was happy, but in this situation I struggle to make the right decision in order to add value.

I thought that if I go for a decent CB, I am only getting called by another Ace or JJ which I thought was unlikely. I don't want to place a bet that will force them both to fold, but then I don't want to place a bet too small as I want to gain maximum value.

I decided to check-raise. The third player placed a min-bet, I raised half pot, and they both folded.

My question is, how would you play this hand in order to gain maximum value, or do you just put it down to "one of those things."

Again, I apologise if this has some fundamental answer I am missing. I look forward to posting more and learning more from the forum.

Cheers, Matt

Comments

• edited September 2014
    It depends on the board but in this case, and I mean no offence here, but check/raising is probably the worst possible thing you can do.

It's tricky because when you smack a flop this hard it's so hard for anyone else to have a piece of it. Sometimes we can check (and just call a bet) if we think checking and showing weakness means they're likely to try bluffing us.