You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Sky Poker forums will be temporarily unavailable from 11pm Wednesday July 25th.
Sky Poker Forums is upgrading its look! Stay tuned for the big reveal!

50p - £1000 in 3 months.

edited October 2014 in Poker Chat
hi my name is James, ive been playing poker for 7 years now having some great and not so great moments. in 2010 I payed $11 to enter the sunday storm and I came 3rd / 33,517 entrants winning $14,077.14. I was young and stupidly I blew this money within 6 months on booze, a car that drinks far too much fuel and traveling to my uni mates around UK. then 2 years ago I came 1st / 554 entrants winning about $4500. Had I learnt my lesson from the first time? No, I blew it instantly on a trip to New Zealand. although these times were great fun in short periods of time, in the long run they haven't benefit me very much at all.

Ive spent 7 years reading countless books and watching countless strategy videos about cash, sng and tourneys. I need a change in my mentality right about now before I waste more time playing poker with no goal or structure. The thing I mostly struggle with is my management. Im always playing random games and random stakes dependant on how im feeling that day.

This may sound completely bonkers but one of the main reasons i want to crack poker is for a fairly secure pension. if i can get a good steady income from poker whether its big or small by the time i retire i will be happy. In the UK pensions aren't looking too promising for youngsters. a lot of people are going to retire with little if any security. Obviously i would love to get to that stage in poker a hell of a lot sooner within the next few years. If you think im nuts please say so.