You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Sky Poker forums will be temporarily unavailable from 11pm Wednesday July 25th.
Sky Poker Forums is upgrading its look! Stay tuned for the big reveal!

Excel Help...

edited February 2015 in Poker Chat

It’s no great secret that where Microsoft packages are concerned, Word is my bag whereas Excel frustrates me (ironic because I work in the financial industry and I have to use the latter every day).

Is there a way I can overtype 17* into a cell containing the number 10, hit enter/return, and have the value in the cell change to 27? I know that I can have a separate column which can do the addition for me, but can I eliminate that and simply do the sum in the one cell? I’m not sure if I’m explaining what I mean… another sad irony, because I’m a writer! ;)

Google has not been my friend on this matter.

*numbers used are for example purposes only.

Comments

• edited January 2015

there is a short answer and a long answer...

• edited January 2015

the short answer is, "no."

• edited January 2015

the long answer is, "nooooooooooooooooooo."

• edited January 2015
    Both of those answers suck.
  • edited January 2015
    What problem are you trying to solve this way?

Always better to have the original number and the additional number available separately for auditing purposes/error checking even if you do only want to display the running total.
  • edited January 2015
    Sounds like a 2 sheet solution.

1 sheet with individual scores with a 2nd sheet that auto totals them up.
  • edited January 2015

the best way to achieve this is to use two cells.  cell a1 is the new number cell a2 is the running total.  then you can copy paste special a1 and add values to a2. 

to make things easier you can use a button and assign a macro for this action.

• edited January 2015
    I thought this was POKER CHAT!!!!!!!!!!!