You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Sky Poker forums will be temporarily unavailable from 11pm Wednesday July 25th.
Sky Poker Forums is upgrading its look! Stay tuned for the big reveal!

How can I improve?

edited August 2015 in Poker Chat

Like many, I managed to satellite into the UKPC, had a great time and have come back enthused about poker but also realising I have a long way to go in my learning.

I have been playing for about 2 years. I have reached a level where I have mastered some of the basics. I’ve been learning from books and watching Skypoker on 861. In my day job I know that to stay at the top I need to go on advanced courses and learn from the best. At golf I have lessons from the professional to iron out faults that creep into my game.

So my question is – What resources are there to help me and the many others like me to improve? Can anyone suggest the best books, on-line resources, live tuition? I am particularly/exclusively interested in tournament NLHE play.

Are the likes of SharkScope any good?

Donald

Comments

• edited August 2015
    Where are you from Donald, your accent sounds yorkshire?
  • edited August 2015
    Just get as much practice in as possible on the table, theres a lot of stuff you just pick up over time.

If you have an interesting hand, or one you are unsure about, post it up in the poker clinic.

There is a lot of decent streams on twitch too, Jason Sommerville is really good at talking through his thought process and why he played a hand a certain way.
  • edited August 2015
    there are loads of ways to improve your game: books, training videos, talking through hands with (preferably) better players, hand analysis tools etc.