You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Sky Poker forums will be temporarily unavailable from 11pm Wednesday July 25th.
Sky Poker Forums is upgrading its look! Stay tuned for the big reveal!
Options

New to poker

edited June 2016 in Poker Chat
Hey I'm new to playing poker online and wanted to know the best ways of improving. Is it just a matter of playing more and you will eventually imporve or are there some books/forums I could read that would improve my game?

Thanks

Comments

• Options
    edited June 2016
    In Response to New to poker:
    Hey I'm new to playing poker online and wanted to know the best ways of improving. Is it just a matter of playing more and you will eventually imporve or are there some books/forums I could read that would improve my game? Thanks
    Posted by MrHuwster7
    The fact you are asking this question and looking to develop your game is a good omen for your future game.

There are some basic tips under the 'Academy' tab at the top of the page.

There are loads of poker books, many you can find PDF's of to read free if you search for 'poker book PDF' on google.

Others can probably make better up to date book recommendations than me, I prefer watching videos etc personally.

There are a load of training sites where top players post videos analysing their hand histories, I am not sure I am allowed to mention or link them on here but google will be your friend again on that one.

Reading some of the strategy forum posts would also be worthwhile.

Good luck!

• Options
    edited June 2016
    I wouldn't really recommend books because it's possible to get most of the information you need to improve early on for free online, and the game changes so rapidly in what is considered "standard" that many books will seem dated (even if the fundamentals don't change).