You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Sky Poker forums will be temporarily unavailable from 11pm Wednesday July 25th.
Sky Poker Forums is upgrading its look! Stay tuned for the big reveal!
Options

New Player Advice needed

edited March 2017 in The Poker Clinic
I started playing here about a month and a half back and have enjoyed learning to play Hold Em, mainly in tournaments and a few DYM six seaters too, Ive only tried cash games a couple of times and simply dont enjoy it, so its something I intend to leave alone.

My question is will I loose out learning circle wise by not playing cash games?, and by stick to tournament play instead? Im sort of assuming theres elements of play Im not going to learn maybe?, that will maybe cost me dearly in the longer run in tournament play, if that makes any sense

Another question, which are currently the best books to read with regards to tournament play? something that suits the modern online game and maybe help deepen my understanding of the game overall,

Really enjoyed my time at the tables win or loose, very nice site and players, think this will be a good place for me to develop my game

thanks in advance for any advce answers

Comments

• Options
    edited July 2016
    Cash and tourneys are quite a different breed, lots of very successful tournament players are relatively poor at cash and vice versa.

If you don't like cash you could play some slower moving deepstack tournaments which play more like cash games in the earlier stages

The two most notable major differences are the ability to reload in a cash game and the increasing BB in tourneys, both of which have an effect on the dynamics.

Good luck
  • Options
    edited July 2016
    In Response to Re: New Player Advice needed: