You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Sky Poker forums will be temporarily unavailable from 11pm Wednesday July 25th.
Sky Poker Forums is upgrading its look! Stay tuned for the big reveal!

According to Yogi..............

edited March 2010 in The Shed
In the 1070's I worked as a Photogravure printer in Bury, Lancashire. Our shift foreman was a giant of a man called Arthur Morton and for obvious reasons we nicknamed him Yogi. Now Yogi was one for tall tales and he had a collection of tales from the past that always brought a smile to whoever listened. Here are a couple of my favourites;

The Marrow

Yogi's father was a well known horticulturist and his passion was growing Marrows. His best effort, according to Yogi was for the Bury Show in 1958. The day before the show the Marrow was prepared for showing and it was obvious that it was too big to be carried to the show on the bus. Some quick thinking was needed and so they asked the local farmer if he could help them out and he duly obliged by loaning them a donkey and 2 wheeled cart. On the morning of the show they collected the donkey and cart and prepared to load the giant marrow. The marrow was so heavy that a block and tackle hoist had to be used to lift the marrow in a canvas cradle. Eventually the marrow was suspended and the donkey and cart backed underneath it. Slowly and gently they lowered the marrow onto the cart and congratulated each other on a job well done.

Unfortunately the marrow never got to the show. It was only when they went to the front of the cart that they realised, the two front feet of the donkey were suspended 6 inches off the ground.

Billy Smarts Circus