You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Sky Poker forums will be temporarily unavailable from 11pm Wednesday July 25th.
Sky Poker Forums is upgrading its look! Stay tuned for the big reveal!

QQ better than AK suit???

edited April 2010 in Poker Chat

Hi all, I'm quite new to Sky Poker, but not poker. Just want to know which hand u think is better as a startin hnd, cause for me it's QQ as AK usually is my bogey hnd, but lately 99 is too sick 4 words, loose with it or it breaks myAA if against it, unreal. Congrats to all goin to Vagas, I will hv a go nxt year as this year I'm busy. Have just won my first sky tourney tho, last night in £900gtd at 9PM. What a glorious feelin!! Luved it! My A2 beat AQ and KQ beat AJ, they were my 2 suckouts, otherwise it all went well. Luv this site, gonna b a regular now, but still on small stakes 4 a while!!

Cheers All

Mark K
(Babweboy)

Comments

• edited April 2010

depends which suit

• edited April 2010

If the Qs are both different suits to the AK these are the pre-flop equities of each hand;

QQ  53.786%
    AK   46.214%

If one of the Qs is the same suit as the AK there are the figures;

QQ  54.117%
    AK   45.883%

So you can see the QQ is slightly stronger in both cases, but it's essentially a coin flip.

• edited April 2010
    As a starting hand, QQ is far better. This is because it crushes so many other hands.
    AK doesn't have a significant edge against ANY hand, it is just ace high. It's value pre-flop comes from the fact that is only in a really bad spot against AA (and KK to a lesser extent). This means that you can bet aggressively with it pre-flop with a fair degree of confidence which gains you "fold equity".

• edited April 2010