You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Sky Poker forums will be temporarily unavailable from 11pm Wednesday July 25th.
Sky Poker Forums is upgrading its look! Stay tuned for the big reveal!

Looking to improve

edited April 2010 in Poker Chat
Hello all,

I am a self taught poker player and started playing in Dec 09. I watch a lot of poker on TV and on my new favourite channel 865!

When I started I was on Full Tilt but got drawn in by the Bounty Hunter tourney they show on TV. Since cashing in my 2nd or 3rd go I got hooked on Sky Poker and haven't played elsewhere since. I have played a bit live but mostly online.

I feel I have a decent understanding of the game and different strategies, times to pull the trigger and picking the right spots.

I want to step it up another level now and wondered what peoples advice is.......?

Should I read books? Play more live tourneys? Just keep playing online?

What did the more experienced of you out there do?

Thanks in advance - Small Dog

Comments

• edited April 2010
    The interenet offers the opportunity to play thousands of hands in a short space of time, and i think that is where the most improvment will come from for you. If you want to try reading books then i believe they can be of value. Now if you know anything about torrents and downloading you may find that all the top books are out there in cyberspace, ready to be downloaded.... Not that i would ever endorse that !!

As you advance more i've heard good things about training sites like Cardrunners but they cost and are probably above your level at the moment.

Experiance of situations and identifying your mistakes will always be the key to improvment
  • edited April 2010

Thanks Aces.

I seem to be playing more and more lately. I have the buzz.