You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Sky Poker forums will be temporarily unavailable from 11pm Wednesday July 25th.
Sky Poker Forums is upgrading its look! Stay tuned for the big reveal!

hidden sets?!?!

edited June 2010 in Poker Chat
I have been playing poker for a few years well about 6 years and i absolutley love the site (richard orford is hilarious by the way i have to say, him and tikay on screen romance is brilliant).

anywho, this message is just is because for the life of me I just cannot spot the signs or get away from someone with a set. I always seem to lose my bankroll with maybe top pair and top kicker or 2 pair only to see my opponent has hit a set! I just cant suss out the betting pattern I want to know if there is any tell tail signs of a strong hand like a set. I know slow play indicates strength but if a flop comes down say A 6 2..Rainbow board and I am holding AK i am never going to put that down and I will shuve at first opportunity am I right in sayng this or am I just a bad player!??

kind regards
Scotty boy

Comments

• edited June 2010
    With playing against a set, not much you can do.
    If they raise are you going to think its a set everytime, course your not, could be raising with maybe 2 pair with his rag A.

It is a strong fold if you can do it but couldnt see many people folding it. thats the kind of board you would hope for with AK except AAK lol

Just have to blame the poker gods :(
  • edited June 2010
    top pair top kicker and 2 pair is hard to get away from if your opponent has hit a set (or if you hit a set and they hit a higher one)

The only way to lose less from it is when the board looks dangerously like there could be a straight or a flush possible.

The flip side of this is that you really should make money when you hit a set
  • edited June 2010