You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Sky Poker forums will be temporarily unavailable from 11pm Wednesday July 25th.
Sky Poker Forums is upgrading its look! Stay tuned for the big reveal!

Re-Raise or Flat call???

edited June 2010 in The Poker Clinic
Never played the villain before, have no real reads he has been on the table 10 mins and doubled up early. What would you do here and why ???

goodylad21 Small blind  £0.50 £0.50 £136.23 SBig blind  £1.00 £1.50 £249.30   Your hole cards A A       h Fold     r Fold     fFold     a Fold     goodylad21 Raise  £2.50 £4.00 £133.73 S Call  £2.00 £6.00 £247.30 Flop    3 J 8       goodylad21 Bet  £4.50 £10.50 £129.23 S Call  £4.50 £15.00 £242.80 Turn    8       goodylad21 Bet  £9.00 £24.00 £120.23 SRaise  £18.00 £42.00 £224.80

Comments

• edited June 2010
    ok..im a 2/4 low level beginner! lol...but I'm gonna have a go at this and tell you my reasons to see what you think also!
    You basically have 2 pair aces and eights with jack kicker....and nut flush draw....but....I would be flat calling for the simple fact you have no reads on the guy and once the board has paired the full house could be beating you and even if that doesn't come if you miss the flush you will be left with only 2 pair when he may well have already hit trip 8's.
    For me if i'm not very confident i'm ahead I'm flat calling to minimise losses rather than re-raising.

• edited June 2010
    ok....i just read this also to hubby and he said "I'm shoving!"....so there you go, 2 different opinions in one go! lol
    ps...gonna go kick him in the head now as he has forced me to play tighter when shoving is my move!!!!
  • edited June 2010
    bet more pre and on flop, call turn c/f blank rivers.
  • edited June 2010