You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Sky Poker forums will be temporarily unavailable from 11pm Wednesday July 25th.
Sky Poker Forums is upgrading its look! Stay tuned for the big reveal!

PLO question - pre flop play

edited August 2010 in The Poker Clinic
Apologies in advance as I think this may be a very vague question.

Obviously when playing ABC NLH there's a range of hands that you can open raise (or 3 bet) with (PP, AK, AQ etc) & I was wondering if there's a similar thing in Omaha?

I'm very new to the 4 card game & I gather it's very much a game of draws & redraws, so even if you've got a couple of aces in your starting hand you're pretty much guaranteed to be behind after the flop unless you hit a monster.

I do appreciate there may also be a difference depending on whether you're playing tourneys or cash, so as I plan to mainly play cash PLO assume that's what I mean.

Apologies again if this is very vague.

I think what I'm really asking is, is it just generally better to limp pre with decent drawing hands or are there any kind of hard "rules" for raising pre with certain sorts of hands?

Comments

• edited August 2010
    typed out long reply then it logged me out when posted :(

dont ever open limp

basically you want 4cardsthat work together well. this is so when the flop comes you can mash the pot button until your finger hurts.

high rundowns (KQJT) are better that low rundowns.  in rundowns with 1 gap in it e.g. QJT8. the lower down the gap is in the rundown the stronger your hand. (more over cards to gapper = more nut draws when that gapper is on the flop)

obv if rundowns are suited that is better than unsuited, not because we go mad when we hit 9high flushes but because a BDFD = 5% worth of equity.

big pairs are goot just dont go crazy with them pre if the other two cards arent that super.