You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Sky Poker forums will be temporarily unavailable from 11pm Wednesday July 25th.
Sky Poker Forums is upgrading its look! Stay tuned for the big reveal!

PLO hand - a couple of questions

edited August 2010 in The Poker Clinic
I'm very new to the 4 card game. So much so, I reckon I've probably only played a couple of hundred hands at most so I'm sure I'm making plenty of mistakes!

Yesterday I asked a question about raising pre flop in PLO games & got some very good advice. With that I decided to play a DYM tonight & got this hand.

1 - Is this generally a good enough hand to start raising with pre? My thoughts at the time were that I've got a big pair, a potential ace high straight draw & 2 potential nut flush draws

2 - When the flop comes as it does is it best to just flat call or raise it here to try & build the pot? I've got an overpair (I know one pair isn't particularly strong in PLO so I don't know if it's even worth taking into account?) as well as the club flush draw & a possible back door heart flush draw

fwiw, player x was seeing almost every flop so I'm guessing he's also new to the game (I did have NLH notes on him about chasing draws with no odds but I don't know if you can make any use of them when crossing over to PLO?)

Also, in terms of reading other people's hands, I take it that this is purely something you learn to do over time? I'm finding it much more difficult to do in PLO than NLH but I think that's probably because there's 4 cards to think about.

All advice greatly appreciated. I'm beginning to like this game more & more & I may even start playing this more than NLH.
PlayerActionCardsAmountPotBalance
Small blind  50.00 50.00 1390.00
 Big blind  100.00 150.00 1525.00
  Your hole cards
  • A
  • A
  • J

Call  100.00 250.00 3605.00
silentbob Raise  300.00 550.00 2315.00
 Fold