You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Sky Poker forums will be temporarily unavailable from 11pm Wednesday July 25th.
Sky Poker Forums is upgrading its look! Stay tuned for the big reveal!

Confused brain with odds - very newbie question

edited September 2010 in The Poker Clinic
Hi everyone,

Up until january this year, when I started playing poker, ive never gambled in my life - so i was pretty new to odds and what they all meant. Anyway, excuse over lol - im a bit confused between counting outs and the rule of 2 and 4.

Please bare with me....

on the flop, I have 4 to the flush - 9 outs, 47 cards unseen. 47 - 9 = 38 (38 to 9) or 4.2 to 1
Following the rule of 4 (Solomon) - multiply outs by 4 and subtract number in excess of 8. 9 x 4 = 36 - 1 = 35% chance of hitting flush if you get to see the turn and river, Thats more like 3 to 1?
Have I worked that out right?

If so, after the turn card and ur still 4 to the flush, the odds drop massive following the rule of 2 (18%), but the change in odds the first way is the 2nd confusion e.g counting outs and subtracting etc. 46 - 9 = 37 (37 to 9) or 4.1 to 1

I read about the rule of 4 and 2 in harrington - cant remember where I read the cards seen/unseen bit from tho.

Would appreciate any help. I'm slowly building my miniscule bank roll, so im sure, understanding this properly wont hurt lol.

Si

Comments

• edited September 2010
    Well, the simple version is every out, or live card, is worth approx. 2% each street- so on the flop, a flush draw has 9 outs, or roughly 36%. An open end straight draw has 8 outs, so approx. 32%. If you're looking for a set, the odds are 20% of hitting it preflop, or 8% if you miss the flop.

It's not 100% accurate, but this should be accurate enough to calculate odds quickly- if you're on the flop, an out is worth 4% each, on the turn, 2% each.