You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Sky Poker forums will be temporarily unavailable from 11pm Wednesday July 25th.
Sky Poker Forums is upgrading its look! Stay tuned for the big reveal!

the blocker bet?

edited September 2010 in Poker Chat
i am new to sky poker and have heard lots of talk of the blocker bet!! but i cant actually see the point of this because surely if your not really confident of your hand but are willing to bet it but your hand cant take a re raise then surely it is better to checl call.also if your hand is good and your opponent has got a missed draw or such like then if u check he is probably going to have a pop at the pot anyway.where if u put a blocker in and get a reraise you probably have to fold anyway.so surely in the long run the check call is more profitable?  what do you guys think?

Comments

• edited September 2010
    In Response to the blocker bet?:
    i am new to sky poker and have heard lots of talk of the blocker bet!! but i cant actually see the point of this because surely if your not really confident of your hand but are willing to bet it but your hand cant take a re raise then surely it is better to checl call.also if your hand is good and your opponent has got a missed draw or such like then if u check he is probably going to have a pop at the pot anyway.where if u put a blocker in and get a reraise you probably have to fold anyway.so surely in the long run the check call is more profitable?  what do you guys think?
    Posted by BANKY10

[  ] op has heard of betting for information
    [  ] op has heard of either 'way ahead or way behind scenario'
    [  ] op is good a teh pokerz
    [  ] check-call is profitable
    [x] i LOL'd
  • edited September 2010
    bit harsh to the new guy sikas? Check calling can be profitable.
  • edited September 2010