You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Sky Poker forums will be temporarily unavailable from 11pm Wednesday July 25th.
Sky Poker Forums is upgrading its look! Stay tuned for the big reveal!

Starting out

edited October 2010 in The Poker Clinic
Hi all, I'm pretty new to the forums though I've been a SkyPoker member for a good few months now. I'm glad I did since the community seems to be very good and I enjoy all the banter that goes on here and on the SkyPokerTV channel too; it's my kind of place lol!

I have been playing poker on and off for a few years (Hold' em only) but recently I want to give it a serious try to see how I get on. I love the game and watch SkyPokerTV and a lot of other TV tourney's to see approximately the plays they make on there. I admit that I'm a distinctly average player and need to improve in many areas. I was wanting to ask how some of the rest of you who tightened up your game, built up a bankroll and became very good players how you went about doing this? I realise its hard work but what would you suggest I do to try and become a better player besides get more experience through playing? Are there any online poker books I could try out or tips of the type of games I should play or just tips in general? I know everyone is different and some of you may not want to divulge this information and I can understand this but I have the buzz for this game and would like to improve my play so that I could hold my own and start to win more than I lose.