You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Sky Poker forums will be temporarily unavailable from 11pm Wednesday July 25th.
Sky Poker Forums is upgrading its look! Stay tuned for the big reveal!

Maniacs

edited December 2010 in The Poker Clinic
Hi all

I've been playing for around nine months now. An xbox game got me hooked and now I play for a couple of hours every day just for fun and I watch a lot of Sky Poker. I'm not ready to play for real money I'm just here to learn from experienced players.

I've been playing no limit hold'em on a couple of xbox games: Texas Hold'em(Generic online poker) and Red Dead Redemption(Atmospheric cowboy poker). My problem is because its xbox there's not a lot of serious players and loads of maniacs. I'm frequently being bullied off winning hands because players keep making ridiculous pre flop raises with muck e.g half of their chips on the first hand. My strategy is to sit back until I've got something worth calling with and occasionly I'll win the table.

How do I deal with maniacs? Should I just find another table or play limit hold'em?

Liam

Comments

• edited December 2010
    Hi Liam

Firstly, welcome to Sky & welcome to the forum.

Unfortunately the only use you'll get from playing in games like these is just getting used to the hand rankings. When there's no money at stake then there's never any incentive to play any other way.

In broad terms the easiest way to deal with maniacs is to sit tight & wait until you've a strong hand. Once you find that hand then you just have to go with it.

If you can then I'd suggest the best way to learn would be to deposit a small amount (maybe even only a tenner to start with) & play some of the cheap games on here. There are sit & go games for only 30p a time & the £2.20 deep stack tournies are great value & a great way to feel your way into real money games.
  • edited December 2010