You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Sky Poker forums will be temporarily unavailable from 11pm Wednesday July 25th.
Sky Poker Forums is upgrading its look! Stay tuned for the big reveal!

My Sky Poker Journey - Probably a bit of a yawnfest...

edited March 2011 in Poker Chat
I started playing poker back in 2007. I'd watched Late Night Poker a bit on channel 4, and figured that as numbers is my thing, and the ability to remember what has gone on, I'd be half decent at the game.I'm not exactly sure why I started on Sky Poker. At the time I was joining a lot of sites to do a spot of matched betting, and Sky was one of them. I began on the "pretend money" tables. By their nature they're very loose, and I soon realised that to play the game properly I was going to have to stick some money in an account and play "for real".So aremd with a £50.00 deposit, off I went. As I'm sure most people do, I began on the lower entry fee tournaments, and found the game exciting and scary - probably in equal measure. In something like my 6th tournament, I won. It was a £50 guarantee scary that started at 8pm (£2.00ish entry). By10 past nine I'd come out victorious, and was delighted to be £56 better off. I was hooked. I told everyone about it. £50 pounds won for a £2 entry. The world was my oyster.I entered the open on the back of that win. In those days the field froze out every night at 600 entrants (it was a 9pm "kick-off"). I didn't cash, and the thought of losing so much money (£10) in one go was sobering. The first time I was all in, I had AQ, and found AK sitting waiting. The flop of QQQ was a help, and the beginning of my luck-box journey began.Way back then,Sky showed the poker each night on (I would say 865, but it wasn't back then) TV, the Open every night, apart from Tuesday's Velocity. I discovered the joy of hearing your name read out, even if it was only "and Eyeman ge