You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Sky Poker forums will be temporarily unavailable from 11pm Wednesday July 25th.
Sky Poker Forums is upgrading its look! Stay tuned for the big reveal!

Folding kk preflop

edited March 2011 in The Poker Clinic
hi

I have never done this before, and think i might have been an absolute idiot for doing so. But, this guy is very tight and said earlier to another player he folded pocket queens preflop (actually against me):

PlayerActionCardsAmountPotBalanceCraigyB372Small blind £0.10£0.10£10.57hamster880Big blind £0.20£0.30£33.13 Your hole cardsKK   xxxxxCall £0.20£0.50£29.08MizroeRaise £0.60£1.10£23.82izzysteerFold    CraigyB372Fold    hamster880Raise £2.60£3.70£30.53xxxxxRaise £11.40£15.10£17.68MizroeFold    hamster880Fold    xxxxxMuck    xxxxxWin £6.30 £23.98xxxxxReturn £8.80£0.00£32.7

Comments

• edited March 2011
    Years ago it was easy - the third raise was always aces. But nowadays, with people 3 and 4 betting very light that's not the case.

Key thing with this case though - he limped under the gun. No doubt about it, he's got the aces. There is absolutely no other hand he can have.

Forever beware the UTG limper who then re-raises - that always used to be a dead giveaway for aces. It's a classic play from the old school but rarely works nowadays. It rarely works because a UTG limp sends off all kinds of warning signals in players' minds, so they often just call with a pocket pair, set mine, and hope to felt the smart alec with the bullets.

• edited March 2011
    dont believe what they say in chat

i would need concrete evidence to ever consider folding kings pf but the dumb way he played this hands its like 98% in my mind he has aces here....and its 150 deep.......................i would fold too i would hate it but i would fold,

and i would 3 bet smaller here ok your oop but kings is good
  • edited March 2011