You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Sky Poker forums will be temporarily unavailable from 11pm Wednesday July 25th.
Sky Poker Forums is upgrading its look! Stay tuned for the big reveal!

Do i think about what might of been too much?

edited March 2011 in The Poker Clinic
Hi guys,

I'm fairly new to sky poker, been on here about 5 months or so.. I'm doing okay, i've had a few pay outs in £1.10, £2.20 MTT's, my best was winning one for £35. So not amazing but not terrible!

Anyways moving on to something i have been thinking about early... 

Basically folding junk or just poor cards and then flopping a decent hand. 
Eg
2 7 ... fold.... flop 772 

Most of the time it's been a raise of 2-3 BB to see this flop, hence the fold..

Should we worry about what we could of won? or is it just bad luck? Or do i make my game alot looser? but i don't want to start playing any old hand?!

Thanks

Tom

Comments

• edited March 2011
    Having no option to not show folded cards certainly dosn't help.

If the decision was correct at the time you made it, ie to fold, then regardless what happens in the future that decision was still correct, we make our decisions on the information we have at hand not on future infomation we never have access to.
  • edited March 2011
    It happens to us all, all of the time. Don't waste your mental energy thinking 'if only' and stuff like that. 95% of the time your junk cards will either miss the flop completely or end up getting you in trouble and losing you a load of your chips. OK, so maybe 5% of the time or they would have made a monster and won a big pot, but do the maths, playing them will not be profitable in the long run.

To prove this to yourself write down the flop the next 100 times you pick up 72o. Then add up how many of those 100 times you would have had a flop like that one above and how many would have been a waste of your chips.