You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Sky Poker forums will be temporarily unavailable from 11pm Wednesday July 25th.
Sky Poker Forums is upgrading its look! Stay tuned for the big reveal!

Hello everyone

edited March 2011 in Poker Chat
Hi all,

I sort of made my forum 'debut' on Master Cash last night but I wanted to post properly to introduce myself and perhaps get some advice if people are kind enough to oblige.

I have been playing poker online since the end of 2006 when I finally got broadband. I started watching late-night poker shows on Channel in about 2001 and was fascinated although I had very little idea what was going on.

I opened an account with another well-known site (am I allowed to mention names here?), made a standard deposit and started playing. Needless to say I blew the lot but learnt a lot doing so and thoroughly enjoyed it.

After that I spent a lot of time reading - I was lucky that I was self-employed and was able to play when I wanted and invest some time in the game - and watching poker TV programmes. I was a writer/reviewer so I was also sent poker books and computer games.

I must have reached a reasonable standard as I cleared bonuses at a couple of sites, cashed well in a couple of big tournaments, that kind of thing. (I am technically profitable, by about $30 or something ROFL.) However, when I went back to the world of work I stopped playing anywhere near as much.

More recently I've started playing regularly and enjoyed a modest run of success by coming 1st, 3rd, 6th and 9th in 200-runner tournaments and doing OK in single-table SNGs. However, the wheels came off not long ago when I couldn't win a hand for toffee, and I realised that I had lost the plot a bit. I mucked about playing Stud Hi and Razz and although I was quite good at the latter I found I couldn't get enough value out of it.