You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Sky Poker forums will be temporarily unavailable from 11pm Wednesday July 25th.
Sky Poker Forums is upgrading its look! Stay tuned for the big reveal!

Pocket Pairs?

edited June 2011 in The Poker Clinic
Hey guys just wondering how to play pocket pairs. Im pretty new to tournament play and am unsure how aggresive I should be with these hands like pocket 8s, 9s, 10, Js. Also, I always call the big blind with suited connectors then fold if re-raised before the flop. Is there a more sensible way of playing this hand?

Love the sight and appreciate any advice!

Stew04

Comments

• edited June 2011
      Simple answer to your first question about pocket pairs. RAISE. 

Raising or folding preflop should always be your default settings preflop. If you are going to enter a hand that is unopened you should be raising whether this is with AA or 72o. Unless you have a hand with enormous implied odds or are confident of out playing your opponents down the streets you should not be looking to limp/call.

With the exception of when somebody calls to trap with a monster, the simple rule is this. A preflop raiser does not have to hit the flop to take down the pot whereas a preflop caller does.

As far as defending in the BB is concerned it is a habit that is not advisable, especially either early in tournies or in cash. Once the BB has been posted it is no longer yours and you should not consider trying to save it. However if you want to be calling raises with hands like suited connectors then i would suggest if possible you should be doing this from late position preferably the button. This way you will have position down the streets and can make much easier and better decisions. So in a nutshell defend your button rather than defend your BB.
  • edited June 2011