You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Sky Poker forums will be temporarily unavailable from 11pm Wednesday July 25th.
Sky Poker Forums is upgrading its look! Stay tuned for the big reveal!

Could anyone recommend a book...?

edited October 2011 in The Poker Clinic
[Sorry - this turned into a bit of an essay. Feel free to skip to the summary at the end.]

I've been playing online poker on this site for about 2 years, purely recreationally.

For about 18 months I built my bankroll up from nothing (albeit very gradually), mostly playing DYMs. I admit I was a novice player., but I wasn't making most of the classic beginner errors (e.g. limping into every pot, overvaluing my hand when I'd flopped 3rd pair, not knowing when I'm beaten when there's 4 hearts on the board, etc.) so eI njoyed modest success. (We're talking about £130 profit over 18 months.)

After a spell where I could only just break even (my bankroll was frustratingly stuck at virtually the same level for a couple of months) I endeavoured to improve.

I started reading a lot of strategy guides online, watching videos, participating on forums, etc. Looking back, my game has improved massively. I now play a lot more cash (NL4 and NL8 so far), which is where the improvement has been most apparent. I have more than doubled my profits in just a few months.

However, from posting and reading other posts on this forum it is apparent that I still have a lot to learn. I am hopefully about to move up to NL10. I am aware that a certain no-nonsense style is required for microstakes and that if I am going to move up through the stakes (which is my ambition as my bankroll allows) I am going to have to start to understand more about playing 'proper' poker.