You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Sky Poker forums will be temporarily unavailable from 11pm Wednesday July 25th.
Sky Poker Forums is upgrading its look! Stay tuned for the big reveal!

My game seems to be progressing, but only finding success in certain events

edited December 2011 in The Poker Clinic
Hi Guys & Gals,

I'm fairly new to poker (been playing about 8 months or so) and have settled on sky as it's much more involving and real than some of the other poker sites out there. I don't have a great deal of money to play with (I'm sensible with my cash) so I play low stakes games mostly. I tend to prefer playing tourneys rather than cash (at the moment) but seem to have got stuck in a bit of a rut with results.

I like playing Bounty Hunters best and will often play a few £2.30 ones a week. A few months ago I was getting fairly good runs and expected to break even pretty much most of the time and sometimes take a few quid extra. I accidentilly played an £11bh about a month ago, ran good and finished 3rd taking approx £100. Since then I've barely got close to breaking even in the £2.30's. Conversely I can't seem to lose at low stakes DYM's (30p or 60p). I think of the last 10 I've played I have probably won 8 or 9. Thing is, the DYM's get a little stale after a while and I'd like to try and get some success back in the MTT's. 

Should I just suck it up and play the bigger buy in's to avoid some of the "raggy ace shovers" that seem to so frequently bust my KK's etc or is it likely that my tight aggressive (70% of the time) type play is better suited to the STT's?

Thanks in advance for any thoughts or tips.

Cheers. LH

Comments

• edited October 2011