You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Sky Poker forums will be temporarily unavailable from 11pm Wednesday July 25th.
Sky Poker Forums is upgrading its look! Stay tuned for the big reveal!

Should I stick to NL4 for now?

edited October 2011 in The Poker Clinic
A few months ago I started playing cash (after a long time playing mostly low stakes DYMs) at NL4 level. I was reasonably successful and built my bankroll to a point where I could afford NL8.

My first attempt at NL8 was catastrophic and I was soon back down to NL4.

I built my bankroll back up again and moved back up to NL8. This time I did much better. Playing some NL4 but mostly NL8 I was on the cusp of being bankrolled for NL10 when I hit a horrible run.

I've had nightmare week. Every major pot I get into, I seem to lose. Not so much bad beats - usually discovering I was behind from the start (e.g. running into sets, or unlikely flopped flushes/straights). I don't feel that NL8 plays much tougher than NL4, and I don't feel that I play scared at NL8, but I just can't seem to succeed. I can sometimes build my stack steadily... but then I always seem to blow it on a massive pot.

I've lost almost 20% of my bankroll in a week or so. (I am playing strictly within it.)

My stats since I started playing cash are...

NL4
Hands played... 9784
Profit in big blinds per 100 hands... 21

NL8
Hands played... 1740
Profit in big blinds per 100 hands... -9

Would you suggest I stick at NL8 (as long as my bankroll allows), even though it seems to be cursed for me (albeit over a relatively smaller number of hands)? Or should I just keep grinding it out at NL4 where I seem to be able to show a lot more profit?

Comments

• edited October 2011
    If ure consistently winnin at nl4 then stick with it at the mo , there's really no diff until ya get to nl10/20/30 tbh
  • edited October 2011