You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Sky Poker forums will be temporarily unavailable from 11pm Wednesday July 25th.
Sky Poker Forums is upgrading its look! Stay tuned for the big reveal!

Note Taking At NL4

edited January 2012 in The Poker Clinic

Hi All this is my first post on the forum so please be gentle with me!!
Im new to poker and mainly play cash at NL4, Im looking to develop my game and am looking to compile info on my opponents. My questions is:

A, Are notes beneficial at this level or will they not really help my game?

B, If notes are important what kind of thing should i be looking out for?

Any help will be much appreciated.

Kind Regards

Comments

• edited January 2012
    Know who is a grinder at these levels and know who is a recreational player - As a general rule, grinders will be on multiple tables and you can find this out from using the "Find a player" function. 

Reason being that some recreational players don't really know how to play properly and will often just limp with any two cards, but when someone who is playing 8 tables has been sat quietly for ages and decides to get involved in a hand, you know they've got something.
  • edited January 2012
    Yep as Pingu says just two main things you need to note, the awful players who can't fold a hand I used to refer to them as DEAD MONEY and then just REG for good players.

Really start getting into tagging your fellow players as soon as possible as it will then let you know if the table is worth staying at or if there's better value elsewhere.

Also th find a players thing is a great idea and one I used at the start of every sesh at NL4-10 as a quick way of finding out the regs.