You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Sky Poker forums will be temporarily unavailable from 11pm Wednesday July 25th.
Sky Poker Forums is upgrading its look! Stay tuned for the big reveal!

Standing Up From A Cash Table

edited January 2012 in The Poker Clinic
Hello poker fellows.

First post for my at the clinic, so your help and advide will be much appreciated.

Well, I enjoy playing cash but I have a massing leak.I don't know when to leave the table and I do it only when I have gone bust. I sit in the table,start playing and win some money.When I double my buy-in, or generally have some more money to play I become getting greedy, play looser and think I rule the table. What's the result when the ego goes into play? Splash money to other players and end up cursing my game although I started playing pretty solid.

So I would like your advice on this matter.When should I leave the table? When I double up? Should I set a target before sitting at the table and leave when I get to it?

George

Comments

• edited January 2012
    Depends on how you view the table, if theres some bad players sat with lots of money waiting to be gifted to you then you should stay.
    If someone sat on your left is making your life a misery by constantly 3 betting you pre/using his position well against you then you should leave.

I will say that its worth leaving a table regardless of the players if you've got on a heater early doors and picked up 3-4 buy ins rather fast as I believe it's +EV to bank a winning session.

Basically we need to always be able to put ourselves in the best position of winning money, don't be afraid to leave tables even if you've only been sat for a short time.
  • edited January 2012