You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Sky Poker forums will be temporarily unavailable from 11pm Wednesday July 25th.
Sky Poker Forums is upgrading its look! Stay tuned for the big reveal!

Coping with massive downswing

edited January 2012 in The Poker Clinic
I've been playing on the site casually for over 2 years, steadily building a modest bankroll from nothing, playing mostly DYMs. Last summer I started to concentrate on improving and also started playing low-stakes cash. Since then I have steadily and consistently increased my bankroll more than 5-fold. I now play up to 5p/10p cash, where I've been doing quite nicely. Of course I've had bad nights, or even bad weeks, but I've always come back again.

However, over the last 2 weeks I seem to be utterly cursed. It doesn't seem to matter what I do, I'm just haemorrhaging money every time I sit down.

I get AA all-in against a lower pair, he catches his set.

I get KQ all in against JT (player was short stacked), flop comes AKQ (no, I don't catch another K or Q).

I get AK all in against A3, he flops a 3, I turn a K, he fills up his flush on the river.

...to name but a few.

I'm not one of those who normally complains about suck-outs and thinks it's all rigged but based on my recent experience I can see why people might sometimes think that. At the moment, I just dread seeing a premium hand in front of me as I'm just thinking "here we go again... gonna do my stack again".

And it's not just bad beats that are killing me. I find a good table and sit and watch loose, fishy players throw their chips around, seemingly willing to bet their entire stack with 2nd or 3rd pair. Of course, when I get involved with my TPTK ot 2 pairs, the player has a set.