You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Sky Poker forums will be temporarily unavailable from 11pm Wednesday July 25th.
Sky Poker Forums is upgrading its look! Stay tuned for the big reveal!

Pub League Poker

edited February 2012 in The Poker Clinic
Can anyone share any tips on how to make the most from the Pub League poker?

I started playing weekly for a pub in Poole and am realising just how conservatively I play live. I need to loosen up a bit and probably become more of a calling station, because there is a lot of bluffing going on.

I have been multi-tabling for such a long time that my hand selection is very nitty. I could see hundreds/thousands of hands in a session, whereas in a live sit n go its less than 100.

I guess I give players too much credit, but to be honest a lot of the players dont really have much understanding of outs, position, hand selection, equity etc..

Are there any obvious areas to focus on?

Comments

• edited February 2012
  • edited February 2012
    Play tightish early, play em like SNG - TAG ABC

Raise big, bet big, get chips -

love your made pairs
  • edited February 2012
    How about limping....

Should I still stick to a fold or raise approach?

Because I found that they are all trying to limp early on
  • edited February 2012
    Dont limp, unless ur limping behind someone else and u have position

Tight aggresive poker, dont be afraid to raise high with premiums you need to find out how many is ideal for your pub. Mainly you dont want to be playing 5 handed etc every pot you enter so if you have a premium raise it up and adjust if your getting called still raise it even more,

Position is key as pingu has said :) also in general dont look @ your cards until the action is on you try to see how your opponents react. 
  • edited February 2012
    Watch opponents before looking at cards - good tip