You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Sky Poker forums will be temporarily unavailable from 11pm Wednesday July 25th.
Sky Poker Forums is upgrading its look! Stay tuned for the big reveal!

NL4 vs NL10

edited March 2012 in The Poker Clinic
I know I've posted on this sort of topic before, but I was looking for a fresh perspective, preferably from regs who often play and succeed at these levels at the moment.

I've been playing cash for about 6 months, working my way up from NL4 to NL10. I'm not a big multitabler. I sometimes have 2 or 3 tables, but one of those may be a SnG or a Freeroll.

After moving up to NL10 I went on a great run and initally found it easier than NL4. But then my 'luck' seemed to dry up and am I now a loser at that level. I still have an occasional good session, but can't seem to go on a consistent run.

My stats are as follows...

NL4, 13228 hands played, +18 big blinds per 100 hands.
NL8, 5192 hands played, 0 big blinds per 100 hands.
NL10, 9103 hands played, -6 big blinds per 100 hands.

I try to play the same game at all these levels. I don't feel I play scared at NL10 or anything like that. The only difference may be that my standard pre-flop raise at NL10 is smaller than at NL4.

So.. the questions are...

Do NL4 and NL10 play the same?
If I can beat NL4, should I be able to beat NL10?
How should I adapt (or tweak) my NL4 game when playing at NL10.
Are the statistics above actually enough to be able to say that I am beating NL4 and losing at NL10?

Long term, my ambition is to build a bankroll and move up out of microstakes where I can start developing my game and playing 'proper' poker. However, I will only do this by building up, as I know that if I can't beat these levels then it is very naive to assume I will beat the higher levels where they will 'respect my raises'.

Comments

• edited March 2012