You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Sky Poker forums will be temporarily unavailable from 11pm Wednesday July 25th.
Sky Poker Forums is upgrading its look! Stay tuned for the big reveal!

Min betting - head scratching time!

edited October 2012 in Poker Chat
I'm just after peoples thoughts on the use (or misuse) of min betting by players and what you read into it.
I know we see this a lot on 861 and all the analysts/experts roll their eyes and scratch their heads when it happens.
I have a few theories , but i'm no expert so would like some feedback please.

1. Min bet to induce a raise?
2. Min bet to see where you are in a hand?
3. Just lazy and can't be bothered to use the slider bar for betting?

I play mainly Low stakes DYM's and the Monday night DTD.
Get quite a lot of min betting in the DYM's but very little in the DTD's, is this because more experienced players are playing on the DTD tables?

All this leads to another (related) subject (raise sizing).
When someone min bets into a big pot , and you feel you have the best hand , would your raise size be relative to their bet size or relative to the pot size?

Thanks
Mick

Comments

• edited October 2012

I know we see this a lot on 861 and all the analysts/experts roll their eyes and scratch their heads when it happens.

I need to clarify/correct that Mick.

Firstly, I hope the Analysts NEVER "roll their eyes", though, on occasion, yes, there is some head-scratching.

There is nothing wrong with Min-Raising whatsoever, but it is best used when the circumstances are correct. Late in Tourneys, when the blinds are big, & most pots go heads up, it is almost standard.

But very often, a min-raise is spectacularly bad.