You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Sky Poker forums will be temporarily unavailable from 11pm Wednesday July 25th.
Sky Poker Forums is upgrading its look! Stay tuned for the big reveal!

questions for the pros out there

With all the talk here about percentages and pot odds ect, do you guys actually work these out as you are playing or are they committed to memory?
Also how much notice do you take if a player uses all their thinking time to make their play, do you assume they are actualy thinking or just playing lots of tables?

Comments

• edited November 2009
    Although I am not a pro, most I would say are committed to memory.

Has he got overcards to my pair? 6 outs?
    Drawing to a flush? 9 outs?
    Open ended straight draw? 8 outs?
    An underpair? 2 outs?

Pokerstove (other calculators are available) can work out most common situations to commit to memory
  • edited November 2009
      The thinking time that a player takes is largely irrelevant. Because of multitabling and other factors it is difficult to get any sort of read on it. If the player takes a long time to act could he be thinking through his decision or has the dog just asked to be fed?

The whole concept of pot odds and implied odds etc is only of relevance to the better and anyone who understands them. When you are playing against people who dont understand the odds they will make crazy calls that they dont have the odds to make. This makes bet sizing difficult because you cant take the odds away from these people.

Some people are better at the mental arithmatic than others and so can do the necessary calculations. But it is only important to know a few basic ones to get a good idea about the odds.

In this example say we are 2 to the flop.