You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Sky Poker forums will be temporarily unavailable from 11pm Wednesday July 25th.
Sky Poker Forums is upgrading its look! Stay tuned for the big reveal!

How can I adjust a full-ring tournament strategy to a 6-max table

edited January 2013 in The Poker Clinic
Hi guys, I'm fairly new to poker, while browsing online I came across a strategy that I think might improve my freeroll MTT game. The strategy is about which hands to play at different table positions and game stages in a FREEROLL MTT tournament. However, it describes what to do in a full ring (10 positions) table but most MTTs on sky are 6-Max tables. The strategy describes UTG1, UTG2 and UTG3 as early positions, then 2 middle positions then Cut-off and button as late positions with the SB and BB completing the round. I have two questions, if anyone can help I will greatly appreciate:
1. In a 6-Max, which positions are early middle and late since there are only 4 positions if you exclude SB and BB?
2. The strategy suggests that in the early stages of the game (i.e +25BB), I should generally shove pre-flop with AA, KK, QQ, AK regardless of position even if someone has raised before me. It also says in late position, I should also shove JJ and AQ if there has not been a raise. My question is, since these suggestions are for a full ring table, by how much do I loosen this hand range to adjust for a 6-max to achieve the same objectives? Please note that I'm not asking you to comment on the merits of this strategy i.e whether it's good or bad [ it's aimed at freerolls where nomal raises aren't respected by fish - no disrespect to fish, i'm still a fish myself] but I'm asking more about the maths/probabilities i.e on a 6-max table, what hand range would achive the same objectives that AA, KK, QQ, AK can achive on a full-ring table?