You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Sky Poker forums will be temporarily unavailable from 11pm Wednesday July 25th.
Sky Poker Forums is upgrading its look! Stay tuned for the big reveal!

On the Bench

edited May 2017 in Poker Chat
Did I mention that I was lousy at poker? I'm told it often enough by the pro's playing the 30p DYM's with me...

Salty Sea Dogs

I started playing poker late last year. I'm not a man of great means, so started off with the frrerolls and a few low tevel tournaments. Surely by now I'm a millionaire? Well, not just yet. I'm about £85 down (from freerolls? Go figure). That's okay, I enjoy playing poker and have managed to slow down my losses. But how am I going to turn that loss into a profit? I've read a lot of information. I still have a lot to digest.

At my level, a great deal of it doesn't really apply. Imagine Ronaldo playing football in the Sunday league. Silky skills and beating the offside trap just don't work. He'd just get a kicking. I think most people agree it's the same in poker. Not that Ronaldo would get a kicking (though, who can ever forgive his dust up with Rooney in the 2006 world cup), but clever moves with bluffs and bets don't work the same.

With that in mind, there has to be another strategy for playing against lesser skilled players. We all have our own idea of what that strategy is, so I won't expand on that here (hey, I still have 85 quid to pull back !!!)