You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Sky Poker forums will be temporarily unavailable from 11pm Wednesday July 25th.
Sky Poker Forums is upgrading its look! Stay tuned for the big reveal!

Dramatic Step

Comments

• edited November 2012
    I have gone through this thread thoroughly and agree with the vast majority of the forum posters on the subject. In this current situation, after uni, it is very difficult to obtain the perfect job in relation to your university course.

As you are, I am currently studying at university. As much as I love to play poker, I don't think its a sustainable career opportunity. It's all good and well when you take down a tournament for a four figure score, but how often will this happen? Poker is a game that you never know will happen, you could go busto a few years down the line. Then what would you do? I think it's pretty ridiculous not to have a back up plan.

I know many students who both play poker, who fit both into their schedules. One is a very respected player on this forum and I'm sure he wouldn't mind to mention his name, David Watkin, to most of you Wacko90. He could well depend on Poker as a future career, but credit to him for sticking to his degree, which I believe him to be in his third and final year.

To me, it sounds like you have your priorities wrong, and really does sound like your addicted to poker.

My advice to you, stick to your degree and play poker on the side for the financial benefit instead of playing solely for your income, I'm sure university has cost you a lot of money and it would be a huge mistake in my opinion to drop out.

Good Luck whatever you plan to do.
  • edited November 2012
    i never post but seeing this thread i just want to say sumat.