You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Sky Poker forums will be temporarily unavailable from 11pm Wednesday July 25th.
Sky Poker Forums is upgrading its look! Stay tuned for the big reveal!
Options

Omaha Hints & Tips for COMPLETE BEGINNERS

edited February 2010 in Omaha

Many of you will never have played Omaha before, so this Thread is for those who want to learn the very basics.

Any Members who know the game well, please Post your tips & hints, but remember, this thread is for COMPLETE BEGINNERS, we can move on to more advanced stuff later.

It looks like Omaha wll be here sooner than you think, so let's get started.

Comments

• Options
    edited January 2010

First up, Sky Community will need to EXPAND Area 51.

The suckouts you see, & players get upset about, in Texas Hold 'em are nothing compared to Omaha suckouts. It's a brutal game.

What price the first Area 51 Thread on an Omaha beat within 12 hours of Omaha starting?

1) If you play Omaha, you will get the weirdest & most unexpected beats imaginable. Get used to it.

2) The Pots get VERY big VERY quickly in Omaha. ALL the Chips or cash you have in front of you will get in the middle sooner than in Hold Em. You MUST protect your hands, & to do that, you need to bet strongly. Hence the Pots soon get huge.

It is THE greatest game you can imagine, but it's deeper - MUCH deeper - than NLH, it needs thinking about carefully.

• Options
    edited January 2010
     Most people should be able to transfer to omaha quite nicely as long as they remember simple rules.
    1) bigger hands are more likely so top pair top kicker is nigh on worthless. Alot more straights, flushes and houses will be out there.

2) 2 i repeat 2 cards and only 2 cards are used from the hand.

3) from point 2 getting dealt quads is an instant fold