You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Sky Poker forums will be temporarily unavailable from 11pm Wednesday July 25th.
Sky Poker Forums is upgrading its look! Stay tuned for the big reveal!

Ramblings of an old man

Comments

• edited November 2013
    My gamble has left me!

I've been railing some of the tourneys this week and obviously there have been some fantastic results.
    I must admit I'm a bit envious. I just can't bring myself to buyin for these events nowadays. Just a few years ago I'd have probably played them all. I think the days of huge swings have gone for me.

When I started playing, I was at Gala in Nottingham 5 days a week playing every competition. A lot of £20 rebuys back then that would make fantastic prize pools but could be a real drain on your wallet. No cashes in a week and you would probably be down a few hundred for the week. Just one result though in those and it was brilliant. It feels so much more 'real' somehow when you walk to the cash desk and get given your winnings.

I suppose it's just natural that I don't do it these days. Married, mortgage, child on the way. I do miss it though. It's so dull that if I ever do well in a tourney now, rather than think that it sets me up to play more of them, I think "lovely, that'll pay for the new fridge freezer" 

I've tried a few of the sats and not got close to getting seats. Even if I do get through a sat , it means a long night is in store. I'd really like Sky to have the tournament tokens thing. I accept though that they probably just wouldn't get the numbers required.

QPR tomorrow, not confident although we do have a fabulous away record. Still hugely optimistic for this season. January will be key. Very interested to see if Mclaren is given the sort of month we need to mount a real challenge. Also, can we keep Hughes?
  • edited November 2013