You need to be logged in to your Sky Poker account above to post discussions and comments.

You might need to refresh your page afterwards.

Sky Poker forums will be temporarily unavailable from 11pm Wednesday July 25th.
Sky Poker Forums is upgrading its look! Stay tuned for the big reveal!

Can a chicken go pro?

Comments

• edited November 2013
     A question to everyone - what would you need to turn pro?

my thoughts are
    -6 months salary as a buffer
    -be able to earn more from poker than your job ( so that you are able to grow your BR as well a pay your bills)
    -a passion for the game
    -a sufficient bankroll to easily handle the varience of the games your playing - eg, 200BI+ for MTTs etc.

For those of you that have asked, I havent given up my job, but its an ambition of mine to live off poker, which I have been trialing for a few months with some success. I realised that I would probably have to put in some more volume and be able to win consistently on other sites since the volume isn't that great on sky during off peak times... hence my diary.

I have already considered alot of peoples concerns with going pro - inconsistency of income, stress trying to grind a living, falling out of love with the game once its your job.

inconsistency of income: my plan was to pay myself a set amount a month, and if I won more in the month the rest goes first to replenishing the buffer (if I havent earnt enough to pay myself a full salary in previous months), then 50% of the rest into the BR, and the rest split between savings and investments.

stress trying to grind a living: like I say, I have been treating the last few months as a trial. it has been stressful " can I make it as a pro/ can't I make it as a pro" and at many points during the last few months I've thought it would be both easy, and impossible lol. Buuut, I'm probably one of the most laid back people going, so stress shouldnt effect me too much.